What Is The Key To Happiness?

            Determining what my independent learning project is going to be has not been easy by any means. There are so many different things I would love to learn! My first thought was learning how to drive stick. I am unable to drive stick well and it really bothers my boyfriend. He has a 2014 Mustang GT and it is a manual transmission. This makes it hard for us to take it on long trips because I am unable to drive when he needs a break. I told him my idea to learn stick and he talked me out of it because he told me I would definitely get bored, since I am not real into cars.

            I then went on to think about what I needed to learn in order to make my life better. Over the last couple of years I have put on some weight because I do not know how to properly diet and exercise. I have tried some fad diets, but they only worked for me for about a week before I went back to my old ways. So I thought this would be a great opportunity for my health and me.

            My independent learning project is going to be learning how to diet and exercise correctly each day. I am going to first do research on what the best diet plan is for myself and then research the type of exercise I should be getting. The word “diet” does not mean taking pills or starving myself daily. I want to know what is the best food to be eating and how much I should be eating each day. I plan to create a weekly eating plan a long with a weekly exercising plan.

Photo CC By: Arya Ziai

            I chose to learn this because I need to live a healthier lifestyle. Being a healthy individual will allow me to live my life to the fullest and also be a better teacher. I can’t imagine feeling good about myself while teaching a group of students that they should eat healthy each day when I do not even do it. I want to lead by example and this is where I will start.

            I also chose to learn this now because I tend to put this off and go back to my bad habits, but now I HAVE to do it for a grade. This is the perfect opportunity for me to take advantage of having to learn to diet and exercise correctly and really put it to the test. Stay tuned for more about my dieting and exercising adventure!

2 thoughts on “What Is The Key To Happiness?

  1. What a wonderful idea! I need to do something like this myself. I’m always on my computer working on homework now, so I’ve put on a few pounds and I’m definitely not toned anymore. Good luck to you on your journey!

    Like

Leave a Reply

