My PLN Is Running My Life!

I have determined what I will base my personal learning network and now the hard part starts. I have to be able to keep my PLN active with good information and followers that are also sharing good information. I need to make sure that each person I follow is always updating his or her twitter and blogs with good information about elementary education. If they fail to do so it is my job to “weed” those people out.

In order to keep my own followers I need to continually research different things that I believe are interesting and helpful for other elementary teachers. It is a give and take situation. I want to research enough information that I am able to post up to 4 different articles or websites on twitter each week. With each article I will post a blog. The blog will be a way for people to read my opinion on the website a long with what I will be using it for as a teacher.

At this point in time I know these different people just as followers, but it is important I become friends with them. I do not have to share personal information, but it would be a good idea to share background that I have regarding elementary education. I would not want any of my followers to think of me as a spammer on the website.

One challenge that concerns me is being able to find information that has not been shared with everyone yet. I want to be able to find something new and exciting to discuss without stepping on someone’s toes. This will require a lot of research and research takes time. As of right now I have 4 jobs and it is a lot of work to keep up with the Internet. You may not believe it, but there are times when I will go all day without checking my social media. It is really difficult, but it is all about becoming an adult and learning how to manage your time.

I know building a PLN will not be easy, but I know I can do it and I know I can do a good job while doing it. I want to be able to start a conversation on the Internet that may not ever end. I want people to search specifically for me because they know I will be sharing good information on elementary education. I have goals that I plan to reach.

Leave a Reply

