What the heck is digital citizenship!?

27934382340_6bdefa4820_o

Photo CC By: MeacherTeacher

            When I researched about digital citizenship I thought about the age group of the students that would be using each set of information I was reading about. I first began thinking about how it is important to get the younger children familiar with Internet etiquette. This is where I believe the survival kit would really hit home with younger students. If you are not familiar with the survival kit I am speaking of please check it out at this website! Now that you have an understanding of the survival kid I hope you agree with me that it is important for the younger students to know these rules.

The next step I would take is talking to the older students about cyber bullying and digital cruelty. I think it is important that they know what is going on out there, how to prevent it and how to handle it properly. I want my students to know that cyber bulling is a real thing and there are things that they can do in order to avoid it a long with making sure they are acting in a positive manner themselves.

After some thought about my days in high school I realized that my friends and I knew more about the Internet than our teachers did. This was fine and all, but I don’t know how many times I heard teachers say they had no desire to know what we were doing on the internet or learn how to do it all. At the time I was completely fine with it because I could then do whatever I wanted to and know more about it than the teachers!

Now that I am studying elementary education I can see how negative this can be. I don’t blame teachers for allowing cyber bullying to happen, but I feel that there could have been a lot different ways to prevent cyber bullying earlier on if adults were more on board with technology rather than the younger generation taking over the internet. With all of this being said, I hope that no matter your age or profession, I hope you take the time to learn about digital citizenship along with technology itself. I don’t know how many times I have wrote in my blogs that technology needs to be embraced and used for the better rather than banned in schools and anywhere else. Teach your children and students everything you can about digital citizenship!

 

 

4 thoughts on “What the heck is digital citizenship!?

  1. I love the visual you chose! You bring up a good point about teachers (and other older people) not caring about internet and all it entails. I have to admit that I am trying to overcome those feelings of my own! I am realizing that technology can help us connect with the kiddos and we need to understand it to help them or even protect them!

    Like

  2. There are varying topics to address when you consider the grade level of students. Each group has their own set of issues to learn about and behaviors to teach.

    Like

    1. I think it is great there are different things to teach each grade level. This makes sure the student knows more and more about it each year rather than learning it all in one day and forgetting it the next!

      Like

Leave a Reply

