Digital Activism

Digital activism is a lot more common than you think. I see it every day and I don’t even notice it. People are constantly trying to get other people on their same mindset about something and they use Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and other social media websites to get their thoughts across. On my Facebook feed I see a lot about Trump and if he is a good guy or bad (to sum it up).

I personally involve myself in digital activisms only sometimes. I stay away from politics and I try to stay away from “drama” over the internet. I do however have 2 Pit Bulls that I love more than my own life and I will stand up for them any day of the week on social media and in person.

Some things that I think is important for people to know before becoming a digital activist is knowing the etiquette of the internet. If you want to be respected for your opinion then you need to respect other peoples opinions even if you disagree with them. I think it is always important to end an argument by agreeing to disagree. It is impossible to change the mind of someone who is so dedicated to what they believe in!

The effectiveness of digital activism is so amazing because someone can reach millions of people from all over the world while they are sitting at home in their pjs! It is really fascinating the amount of people a person can affect by the Internet.

As a future teacher I think I will make it a point to talk about the effects digital activism can have on people. I want my students to know how to safely be a part of any activism they want. I do not think I will allow my students to start or begin an activism during school, but I want to encourage them to do so outside of school. I feel there could possibly be some conflict if I was encouraging them to participate during school hours. I think as long as they have the tools and knowledge they will be able to safely participate outside of school.

I was not aware of digital activism completely until just a few days ago and I did quite the research. I found one girl in particular that I am now following on twitter. She is a digital activism who supports those who experience suicidal thoughts, depression, bullying and a lot of other disheartening things. I think it is so cool that she is using her own knowledge about technology to help others all around her. Check out her twitter feed!

If you still feel that you need more details on digital activism check out this video below.

2 thoughts on “Digital Activism

  1. Thanks for sharing this video! I think you’re right: digital activism isn’t for everyone, and requiring our students to participate might be frustrating for some. But it might be one option for independent projects or a way for those who are interested in activism to use and develop their reading, writing, and creating skills.

    Like

Leave a Reply

