Are You Addicted To Technology?

After reading the first article by Zen Habits and the second article by Katrina Schwartz, a long with watching the Ted talk video I feel that I have an idea of whether or not I am addicted to technology. While I was in high school I constantly had my phone with me. There was never a time that I was not sneaking a text during class or checking social media whenever I had free time in the halls. It consumed my life at the time and I had no idea. As I think about it now I can’t believe I risked getting detention or my phone taken away all because I was worried about replying to a text I might have received.

8292958010_e3d456a22c_o.jpg

Photo CC by: TopDog1 (Flickr.com)

When I went to college I started to feel differently about my phone. I was living with my boyfriend so there was no one I really needed to constantly be talking to on it anymore and nothing on social media was changing when I would look through it for the 3rd time that morning. It was getting to be the type of habit that was a pain in my butt. I wanted to get away from my phone, but I was still in the habit of always looking at it. Sometimes I would find myself scrolling through things not even actually paying attention, I was just going through the motions. I decided that it was time I take a few steps back and not rely on technology.

To this day I still have social media and I spend time on it. But I am able to leave my phone at home when I go to class and not feel a sense of urgency or depression because I do not have it. It feels good not to have my phone connected to my hip and my constant feeling of wanting to check to see if I have enough reception to surf the web. The one thing that I find myself doing is leaving my phone at home even when I don’t mean to. The only problem with this is if someone needs to get ahold of me it isn’t going to happen because I leave my phone at home.

I don’t think someone needs to completely disconnect from social media in order to be healthy and happy. But I do know that people need to know what feels right for them and what they need to do. While kids are in elementary and high school I think it is good for the parents to step in and control the time spent on social media because all kids need guidance. I would have really benefited from that. Below I have attached a short film that will give you an insight on what being addicted to social media can do to your life. It is really fascinating to see this film.

2 thoughts on “Are You Addicted To Technology?

  1. I really enjoyed this post! It’s so important to find balance and what works for you without leaning on your device as a crutch.

    Like

Leave a Reply

