Attention Log

  1. Date: 7/18/17
    2. Description of Physical Space and Device: On couch with Ipad
    3. Duration of session: 20 minutes
    4. What occurred: I was distracted by makeup videos and started to watch and scroll through makeup videos.
    5. What you did: Put my feet on the coffee table.
    6. How you felt: Content. Anxious to try new makeup ideas.
    7. What worked: I could not lie down comfortably.
    8. What did not work: I was able to sit with my feet resting on the coffee table.
    9. Other comments: None.
  2. Date: 7/19/17
    2. Description of Physical Space and Device: Car on Iapd
    3. Duration of session: 25 minutes
    4. What occurred: We drove through one small town in Nebraska
    5. What you did: Read a book using the kindle app.
    6. How you felt: Scared because the book I was reading was scary.
    7. What worked: Shading my face from the sun made it easier for me to read with my Ipad.
    8. What did not work: I had to stop after 25 minutes because I was beginning to get a headache.
    9. Other comments: None.
  3. Date: 7/21/17
    2. Description of Physical Space and Device: In the car with my Mac
    3. Duration of session: 35 minutes.
    4. What occurred: We stopped at a couple of houses because we were house hunting in Omaha.
    5. What you did: I was surfing the web to try and find affordable houses to buy in the Omaha area.
    6. How you felt: Stressed
    7. What worked: Keeping many tabs helped me better choose which houses worked for us and which houses did not.
    8. What did not work: Trying to understand which neighborhoods were safer and which were not on google maps really confused me.
    9. Other comments: none.
  4. Date: 7/22/17
    2. Description of Physical Space and Device: In the car on my Ipad
    3. Duration of session: 15 minutes
    4. What occurred: We stopped at several stoplights.
    5. What you did: continued reading my book.
    6. How you felt: A little carsick from the stopping and going motions.
    7. What worked: I was able to take medicine to help my headache.
    8. What did not work: Looking around and trying to continue reading my book.
    9. Other comments: none
  5. Date: 7/23/17
    2. Description of Physical Space and Device: Mall on my Mac
    3. Duration of session: 15 minutes
    4. What occurred: I ate a salad while looking at the Internet.
    5. What you did: I was looking for places to stay for the night in Omaha.
    6. How you felt: happy because I was able to find cheap hotels that looked decent.
    7. What worked: It was better for me to use a website that found the cheapest hotel rather than me looking at the hotels websites.
    8. What did not work: I needed to find a place that was close enough that we were not driving a long time.
    9. Other comments: none.

 

I learned a lot while I did this attention log. I had no idea how many thoughts ran through my mind while I was doing certain things. It is so crazy to think about the different body positions I needed to be in in order to keep my attention to the technology and how much my mind was thinking. My mind was literally wondering all over the place and I would need to stop and tell myself to focus on one thing. I would then focus on that one thing for quite awhile before doing those steps all over again. I think everyone should do an attention log just to learn a little more about themselves. It was a really fun and challenging thing to do. I would recommend it to anyone.

2 thoughts on “Attention Log

Leave a Reply

